Sisterhood and Privilege

I wish I could tell you about this. I wish I had the words to explain how sacred this exhibit is. But I don’t have the words. At least not yet.

18058197_263311804133318_8198159198963416776_n

What I will say is this: if there’s anyway that you can go, please get your precious self to the Kateri school gym to experience Walking with Our Sisters. It could change your life. I’m pretty sure it’s changed mine.

Never before have I felt so strongly the bond of sisterhood – of understanding why being a woman matters and what it is that can bind us together.  And never before have I been so aware of my privilege  – of realizing that I don’t know one single woman who has gone missing or been murdered.  No one in my white, settler family has been touched by the pain and grief that has touched almost every Indigenous family in Canada. That kind of privilege erects barricades that threaten a sisterhood.

Thank you to the women who guided us through the exhibit today. Thank you to Francine who sat on the bench with me while the magnitude of the grief flooded over and through me.  Thank you to the brave women who organize, construct and travel across the country carrying the stories of the Murdered and Missing Indigenous Women.

Such pain and beauty intertwined.

*All photos from the Facebook page.

 
Screen Shot 2017-07-07 at 8.56.18 PM

Leave a Reply

