Good-bye

ImageI’m not good at saying good-bye. I’m not good at letting people go. Maybe it’s because I want to believe there will always be another meeting. Maybe it’s because letting go of people feels like failure. Like somehow the end of a friendship is a rejection. That’s not to say that I haven’t let people go.  I’ve let a lot of people go. And generally, I’ve been really crappy at it. I tend to push and pull at the same time – I get to the point where it’s time to let go and just then I panic and pull people back in. 

People come and go in our lives. That’s just the way it works. The waters of life move us from one place to another. Some friends stay with us through the changes while others float away. I’m not sure what it is that draws us to each other. Nor what sends us in different directions. But I think it’s time to work on my good-byes. However and whatever that means.  

One thought on “Good-bye

  1. Pingback: Feeling the Love | lizardsgizzard

Leave a Reply

