Survival

I can find Polaris but I have no idea how to use the stars as a map. I know how to build a fire and start it – with matches. I know how to check my oil but not change it. I even know how to jump start manual transmission cars but these days I only drive automatic transmission cars. I think I could catch a fish but I’ve never actually done it. Would I know which wild berries are safe to eat?  Probably not. But I can tie complicated knots. And I can memorize long series of numbers. I’m not sure how much help that will be if there’s a nuclear holocaust.

I wish there was a ‘how to survive’ course I could sign up for. I suppose there is. It’s called Boy Scouts. Missing the boat on that one by being both female and adult though.  Go figure.

Leave a Reply

